Fire Safety

We offer two levels of certification for Fire Safety Awareness (QCF). Level 1 is a half day course aimed at increasing awareness of fire safety in the workplace. Level 2 is a one day course building on and extending the knowledge gained in Level 1. It is designed specifically for the needs of staff who have a specific responsibility for this area in the workplace. Current Health and Safety laws make it essential that employers provide training in fire safety.

Level 1

This basic level qualification is for people who want to learn the main principles of keeping themselves and others safe from fire hazards at work. This includes those who do not have any specific fire safety role in their current work to those planning to take further qualifications.

This level will develop your knowledge and understanding of fire safety, including what to do in an emergency and simple measures that can be taken to reduce fire risk.

The qualification is suitable for all staff, working or intending to work in a variety of environments in which a basic knowledge of fire safety is necessary. Attendees will understand that fire safety is the responsibility of everybody in the workplace. It is particularly useful for new employees or those intending to move into roles which may demand a more in-depth knowledge of fire prevention and safety.

This qualification is included as an additional employer requirement of the Intermediate/Advanced Level Apprenticeship in Spectator Safety. While the achievement of additional employer requirements is not a mandatory requirement for certification of these apprenticeships, the sector and employers recognise their value and completion of them will make apprentices more employable.

Learners will cover the following topics, as well as learning about their own responsibilities for fire control in the workplace.

  • Causes of fires in the workplace
  • The costs of fires in the workplace for employers, employees and society
  • Basic fire safety duties and responsibilities
  • Actions to be taken in the event of a fire
  • Principles of fire risk control
    • Key elements for effective fire risk management
    • The fire triangle and controlling fire risks
    • Active and passive risk control measures
    • Fire prevention measures
  • Safe use of portable fire-fighting equipment
  • Fire safety equipment checks

Level 1 is assessed by a 30 minute, 15 multiple choice test. A score of at least 10/15 is required to pass.

The course requires a minimum of four hours training.

Level 2

The Level 2 Award in Fire Safety (QCF) is an Ofqual regulated and nationally recognised qualification designed for anyone involved in fire safety management in the workplace, such as fire wardens, fire marshals and team leaders.

This level is aimed at ensuring candidates gain a full understanding of fire safety management at work and the specific roles and fire safety responsibilities at work. It builds on the foundation established in level one and includes modules on how fires are caused, the risks associated with fire, principles of fire safety management at work and understanding the role of a fire warden.

Learners will cover the following topics :

  • Causes of fires in the workplace
  • The fire triangle
  • Hazards during and after a fire
  • Fire and smoke spread
  • Identifying and controlling fire hazards:
    • Fire prevention
    • Fire detection and raising the alarm
    • Means of escape
    • Principles of extinguishing fires
    • Fire-fighting equipment and systems
  • Fire safety laws
  • Duties and responsibilities of employers and employees
  • Undertaking a fire safety inspection
  • Fire safety risk assessments
  • Contents of a fire safety briefing
  • Roles and responsibilities of the nominated fire warden:
    • On a day-to-day basis
    • During an emergency

This course requires a minimum of six hours training.